a friend

3022777152_57902abae6_m
An old friend had me to her house yesterday and made me chai.  A friend.  I can’t even remember what YEAR it was that I had a social visit with someone who wasn’t family or from work.  My soul needed this more than I imagined.  When you’re early middle-aged and your time is consumed by work, family, suburban stupidity, and just surviving in the face of chronic mental illness, friends become a luxury that you just don’t have anymore.

image credit: Bobbi Newman, flickr.  (CC-BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Leave a Reply

